I think I might like my own company too much 

I have come to the realization that I probably need more social connections in my life.

It’s going to be quite challenging to break out of my comfort zone to try and be more social.

I am not an overly social person, I really enjoy my own time, watching shows/movies, playing the sims, reading books, using social media after work and on most weekends.

I have realized I don’t really have many close friends at all, but this doesn’t bother me too much, because I am still happy.

But I feel like I might be missing out on things in life, maybe I am limiting myself, and maybe I am stuck in my comfort zone of liking my own company too much?

As well as the goal of going to a yoga class once a week, I have decided to download an app called Meetup, which will allow me to join a social group and meetup to do pre arranged activities.

I am a bit terrified actually, I dont have the worlds best self esteem or self confidence, I have body image issues, plus it’s always daunting meeting a group of brand new people anyway haha!

So, I’m going to break out of my comfort zone, I’m going do something new, and who knows the possibilities which may come from it!

Has anyone else joined a social app to increase social connections? I would love to hear about it!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. mkent88 says:

    Meet up is a fantastic app to meet people through. My sister has met plenty of new friends through the app recently. I’m sure you will too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cherylene says:

    Sounds good Sar, stepping out and trying something new is good. Best wishes to you!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Good initiative! Meeting new people, going new places, getting out of your comfort zone, all very brave things that will make you feel better. Also, I totally agree on the liking our own company. It feels great to be safely alone some times.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sar says:

    Oh really! That is great to hear, and I am glad she is enjoying it and meeting new friends! There hasn’t been any group activities that have grabbed my attention yet but hopefully soon 🙂

    Like

  5. Sar says:

    Thank you Cherylene, I can’t agree more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sar says:

    Yes, sometimes life can feel a little stagnant so I hope this will be a good change 🙂 and also challenge me a bit haha! I love how you have described it as “safely alone” because that is exactly what it is!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well I hope it goes well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sar says:

    Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oceauxnic says:

    I understand perfectly how you feel… I absolutely adore my own company but, sometimes I wish I had that cliché group of friends that does crazy stuff. I think you should start small. Try to befriend one person at a time. At least that’s how I am doing. The idea of meeting a whole group of people at once terrifies me haha. But you know how they say: “Best things come when you step out of your comfort zone.”
    Good luck with it! (I think we both need it)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sar says:

    Hi! Are you using the app also? I think that’s what I am missing, the girls group, the one I used to have when I was younger, but then life changes. The big meeting is a little daunting but I’m not sure what other way I can meet new friends. How are you finding it?

    Like

  11. Oceauxnic says:

    No, I am not using the app (not really my thing). I’m lucky that I have two friends (I guess I could call them that) who are EXTREMELY sociable… whenever I go out with them, they bump into other friends of theirs. They introduce me to them and I try to chat with those people as much as I can (which sometimes can be very hard for me).
    Also, I used to go to kangoo jumps classes where I met a lot of people. That was the only time when I totally stepped out of my comfort zone in order to socialize more.
    I think the key is to do what you love in places that you love because it’s more likely that you’ll come across people with similar interests and it’s easier to form friendships 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sar says:

    Oh that helps then! If they are social and it means you can form friendships with others it does make it easier! I know still challenging but it’s great that you’re still doing it regardless! I am hoping to try a yoga class to see if that helps to meet new people also! You’re exactly right about doing things you enjoy to meet likeminded people! 🙂

    Like

  13. Oceauxnic says:

    Joining that yoga class sounds wonderful! I hope everything works well for you! Actually, I’m sure it will 🙂
    And if you take up yoga, I would really like to read about the experience on your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

